Wyoming Housing Commission’s Public Housing waiting list opens Nov. 28

Waldon Woods

The Wyoming Housing Commission, located at 2450 36th Street SW, will open its Public Housing waiting list on Nov. 28, 2016, to accept applications for its public housing units only. The list will remain open through Feb. 2, 2017.

Applications will be accepted ONLY online. All pre-applications must be received by 5 pm Feb. 2, 2017, at which time the waiting list will be closed and no further pre-applications will be accepted. If you are unable to apply online because of a disability, please contact the office at 616.534.5471.

Note: No other applications are being accepted at this time.

Here’s how the process works:

  • Application submitted
  • Random lottery of all eligible applications
  • Randomly selected applicants notified by mail
  • Applicant completes and returns Waiver of Liability form and HUD form 92006 (included in the mailing)
  • Applicant placed on the Wyoming Housing Commission Public Housing Low Rent waiting list
  • Applicant may not be contacted for up to 2 years

More info here.

To apply please click here beginning Nov. 28:

About the Wyoming Housing Commission

The Wyoming Housing Commission (WHC) owns 195 public housing units. They are located at Westwood Apartments, Waldon Woods and at several other locations throughout Wyoming. Individuals and families pay rent based upon their income directly to the WHC.

The WHC administers approximately 1,100 Housing Choice Vouchers (Section-8) within Kent County and part of Ottawa County. The families and individuals who receive the vouchers pay a portion of their income for rent and the WHC pays the remainder (up to the limits set by HUD (Housing and Urban Development)) directly to the landlords each month.

The Housing Commission board meets every third Tuesday (except April and July) at 1 pm in the Community Room at Westwood Apartments, 2450 36th St. S.W.

The board members consist of Ronald Dressander, Chair; Bruce Robey, Vice-Chair; Patricia Larabel, Donald Dykstra and Paula Thompson.