Nine Wyoming area residents to showcase work in 2017 Legacy Trust Award Collection

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This year’s Legacy Trust Award Collection will feature nine Wyoming area residents among the 143 Michigan artists who will showcase their art for a chance to be sponsored in ArtPrize.


For the eighth consecutive year, Legacy Trust is sponsoring a statewide art competition for adult artists with disabilities in an effort to bring their voices and vision to ArtPrize, an international art competition that draws hundredss of thousands of visitors to Grand Rapids each year. Dates for this year’s ArtPrize are Sept. 20 – Oct. 8. Artists from Ada to Zeeland, the Lower Peninsula and into the UP have submitted artwork.


Artists from Wyoming include:

  • David DeBoer, Head Chef, mixed media
  • Adam Reidsma, The Workshop, mixed media
  • Jill Lindgren, Dogs, mixed media
  • Ryan Oosterheart, Fishing at the Cabin, mixed media
  • Mary Helmic, Abstract Geometry, mixed media
  • Jeffery Baar, Spring is in the Air, marker
  • Carole McDonald, Sapphire, mixed media
  • Jerrilynn Anderson, Getaway Place, acrylic
  • Tyler Riley, Bird’s Eye View, acrylic


Four winners will be chosen – one by a panel of celebrity judges, two by public vote and one special juried award – and sponsored in ArtPrize, the world’s largest art competition.


The public will have a chance to view and vote for its favorite entry on Tuesday, May 23, from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Grand Rapids Art Museum, located in downtown Grand Rapids. Votes can also be cast online at


Along with the nine from Wyoming, there are 51 Grand Rapids residents whose pieces were selected. For a sneak peek at all 143 pieces, visit the Legacy Trust Awards Collection Facebook page.


Winners of LTAC 2017 will be announced on May 30. Along with having their artwork entered into ArtPrize, the winning artists will each receive a cash prize of $500.  All entry fees and promotion expenses for ArtPrize will be paid by Legacy Trust, which, for the fifth year, has secured the high-profile DeVos Place venue for the winning artists during ArtPrize.