Complete list of honors at Wyoming Department of Public Safety even


Supplied by the City of Wyoming


The City of Wyoming Department of Public Safety honored its police officers and firefighters, as well as select community members, for their service to the community in 2016 on Thursday, Feb. 23 at the Wyoming Senior Center.


Each year a Public Safety Awards Board, consisting of department members, reviews nominations for 30 different awards, including firefighter and officer of the year. Following is a complete list of winners:


Certificate of Merit:

Officer Adam Bartone

Officer Aaron Gray

Officer Russ Kamstra

Officer Andrew Koeller

Officer Jesse Lopez

Detective Rob Meredith

Officer Erich Staman

Detective DJ VerHage

Officer Chad Wells

Officer Joshua Yancho

Equipment Operator Troy Landis

Firefighter Tom Marsman


Certificate of Achievement:

Det. Sgt. John McCaw


Life Saving Award:

Officer Mike Nachtegall

Officer Ryan Patterson

Officer Eric Toonstra

Lt. Chris Velzen

Firefighter Eric Campbell

Equipment Operator Scott Vredevoogd

Firefighter Todd Yonkers


Individual Commendation:

Lt. Kirt Zuiderveen

Sgt. Jeff Bylsma

Sgt. Corey Walendzik

Sgt. Eric Wiler

Officer Dustin Cook

Officer Chris DeBoer

Officer Kelsey Eisen

Officer Aaron Freeman

Officer Aaron Gray

Officer Kresten Green

Officer Ben Hecksel

Officer Dwayn Holmberg

Officer Andrew Koeller

Officer Jesse Lopez

Det. Jacob Marckini

Officer Kesha McConaha-Schultz

Officer Jason Murdock

Officer Ryan Patterson

Det. Dennis Pittman

Officer Ryan Silvis

Officer Jake Terpstra


Unit Commendations:

Officer Matt Rooks

Lt. Dennis VanTassell

Lt. Chris Velzen

Firefighter Brad Bennett

Equipment Operator Dan Deppe

Firefighter Brad Dornbos

Firefighter Matt Frazee

Firefighter Kyle Visser

Equipment Operator Scott Vredevoogd


2016 Officer of the Year: Officer Carmen Morales

2016 Civilian of the Year: Milt Zaagman

2016 Firefighter of the Year: Firefighter Lance Bowman


Chief’s Award of Professional Excellence: Det. DJ VerHage and Firefighter Brad Dornbos




One thought on “Complete list of honors at Wyoming Department of Public Safety even

Comments are closed.